Granola vs Fathom: Free Plans, Bot or No Bot, and Which Notetaker to Pick (2026)
Last verified: November 8, 2026
Independent review. If you buy through links on this page we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It never changes our scores — how we test.
A meeting notetaker with an unlimited free plan forever, and an AI-training setting you should check before you record
ToolsGavel verdict
Granola wins if you attend your own calls and want no recorder on them: nothing joins, nothing auto-records, and the notes follow what you typed. Fathom wins on price and on the free plan, where unlimited recordings, transcripts and search have no 30-day window, and on a team path that runs through Salesforce and HubSpot field sync. Pick Granola for conversations where a visible bot would change the room. Pick Fathom if you want the best $0 notetaker, or if your team needs shared call libraries and CRM updates.
Which one should you pick?
Choose Granola if…
- A bot in the participant list would make clients or prospects guarded.
- You work on Windows or Android, or want notes shaped by your own typing.
- You are one person who wants a $14 plan with no seat minimum.
Choose Fathom if…
- You want recordings, transcripts and search for $0 with no history cutoff.
- A team of two or more needs shared call libraries, trackers and CRM field sync.
- You run Zoom, Meet or Teams calls where everyone seeing a recorder is a feature.
| Criterion | ||
|---|---|---|
| How it captures the call | No bot. Records your computer's system audio, starts only when you start it, never auto-joins and does not keep the audio | A bot joins calendar-synced Zoom, Google Meet and Teams calls. A bot-free option is marked beta and Mac-only on its pricing page |
| Free plan | $0 Basic with AI notes and AI chat (auto model only), but only 30 days of meeting history; Slack is the only integration | Free forever: unlimited recordings, transcription, instant AI summaries, clips and search. AI action items and Ask Fathom are marked limited use |
| Paid price for one person | Business is $14 per user per month; no annual rate is listed | Premium is $20 monthly or $16 per month billed annually |
| Team pricing | Business at $14 has no seat minimum; Enterprise is $35 per user | Team is $19 monthly ($15 annual) and Business $34 ($25 annual), both with a 2-user minimum |
| CRM and integrations | Business adds Slack, Notion, Zapier, HubSpot, Attio and Affinity; Salesforce only on Enterprise ($35) | Salesforce, HubSpot, Slack, Notion, Asana, Zapier, plus Claude and ChatGPT integrations listed; CRM field sync is a Business ($34) feature |
| Note style | Merges what you type during the call with the transcript, so the write-up follows your own shorthand | Generates summaries and action items from the recording without needing your input |
| Platforms | macOS, Windows, iOS, Android | Zoom, Google Meet and Teams listed, plus an iOS app; its homepage lists no desktop or Android app |
| Privacy and training | SOC 2 Type 2 (July 2025); trains on anonymized data unless you opt out in Settings; third-party AI providers may not train on your data | SOC 2 Type II listed on its homepage; may train in-house models on de-identified meeting content, with an opt-out in account settings; the policy does not state the default |
What each one really costs
| Audited pricing | ||
|---|---|---|
| Advertised price | $14/user/mo (Business) | $20/mo (Premium, billed monthly) |
| Real monthly cost, billed annually | No flat rate published | $16/mo |
| Real monthly cost, month-to-month | $14/mo | $20/mo |
| Month-to-month premium | — | +25% |
| The billing catch | No annual discount is published, it is $14/user/mo either way, and the free Basic plan locks meeting history after 30 days until you upgrade. | Team's per-seat sticker price looks lower at $19/mo but requires a 2-seat minimum, so its real floor is $38/mo, almost double a single Premium seat at $20/mo. |
| Price last verified | 2026-10-30 | 2026-10-30 |
Audited against live vendor pricing pages — full dataset in the Pricing Gap Index and the true-cost calculator.
Which is better, Granola or Fathom?
If you want no recorder on your calls, Granola. If you want the best notetaker you can get for $0, or a team that can share and search every call, Fathom. They are closer than the usual “bot vs no bot” framing suggests, because Fathom now sells a bot-free mode too.
Both record a call, write a summary, pull out action items and let you ask questions about past meetings. Granola listens to your computer’s audio and never joins. Fathom sends a bot by default and, per its pricing page, offers a bot-free option that is still a beta feature for Mac. The price gap is bigger than the feature gap: Fathom’s free plan has no history cutoff, while Granola’s free plan hides meetings older than 30 days.
How does each tool record your call?
Granola uses no bot. Its security page says it “won’t auto-join or auto-record anything”: you start it for each meeting. It transcribes in real time on desktop and does not store audio, only the transcript and your notes. On mobile it caches audio temporarily after the meeting. Because it announces nothing by default, you decide whether to tell the other people on the call.
Fathom works the other way round. It joins calendar-synced Zoom, Google Meet and Teams calls and records them, and everyone sees the participant. Its homepage says “bot or no bot” and “now available bot-free”. The pricing page lists bot-free recording as a beta feature for Mac. If you use Windows, treat Fathom as a bot tool for now.
Our Fathom review mentions recurring complaints of the bot failing to show up on calendar-synced calls. That risk exists only with a bot. A tool you start yourself cannot miss the meeting, though you can forget to press the button.
What do the free plans give you?
Fathom’s is the larger one. The pricing page says “Free forever” and lists unlimited recordings and transcription, instant AI summaries, clips, playlists and search across calls. AI action items, AI follow-up emails and Ask Fathom are marked limited use, and the page does not publish the limits.
Granola Basic is $0 and includes AI notes, AI chat (auto model selection only), shared folders, customizable templates, voice typing and multi-language support. The limit is time. You see 30 days of meetings, and Slack is the only integration. Notion, Zapier and HubSpot need Business.
If you take a few calls a week and read the notes within days, both free plans work. If you want to look up something from three months ago, Granola’s free plan cannot do it and Fathom’s can.
What do Granola and Fathom cost?
Granola is cheaper for one person and for small teams. Fathom is cheaper at zero.
| Plan | Granola | Fathom |
|---|---|---|
| Free | Basic, $0 | Free, $0 |
| Individual paid | Business, $14/user/mo | Premium, $20/mo or $16/mo billed annually |
| Team | Business, $14/user/mo (no minimum) | Team, $19/mo or $15/mo annual, 2 users minimum |
| Higher tier | Enterprise, $35/user/mo | Business, $34/mo or $25/mo annual, 2 users minimum |
Granola’s pricing page lists no annual billing or discount. Fathom’s Enterprise price is shown with strikethrough formatting that we could not read reliably, so we leave it out.
For two people, Fathom Team costs $38 a month, or $30 billed annually. Two Granola Business seats cost $28. Fathom Business, the tier with CRM field sync, Deal View and coaching metrics, costs $68 for two seats monthly or $50 annually. A solo user cannot buy Fathom’s Team or Business plans at all. Run your seat count through the true cost calculator before you decide.
Fathom shows a “90 day guarantee” on every plan card, including Free, without describing terms. Treat it as unproven until you read the terms at checkout. Granola’s pricing page lists no trial or refund terms; its line is “Try Granola for a few meetings today. It’s free to get started.”
Who writes better notes?
We did not run a head-to-head test and neither vendor publishes accuracy figures, so this is about method.
Granola merges what you type with the transcript. Write “follow up on pricing” and the final note expands it using what was said around that moment. The notes read like yours. Fathom generates summaries and action items from the recording with no input from you, which suits people who do not want to type during a call and prefer to stay hands-off.
Pick by habit. If you already jot notes, Granola builds on them. If you never do, Fathom’s automatic summary asks less of you.
Which is better for CRM sync and teams?
Fathom, if the team is the point. Its Team plan adds a shared workspace with folders, comments, mentions and playlists, plus trackers, team-wide Ask Fathom and HIPAA with a standard BAA. Business adds CRM field sync, Deal View, coaching metrics and AI scorecards. The integrations list names Salesforce, HubSpot, Slack, Notion, Asana, Zapier, Claude and ChatGPT. One caveat: basic CRM syncs are capped at 3 users per domain.
Granola’s Business plan at $14 connects Slack, Notion, Zapier, HubSpot, Attio and Affinity, and includes API access and an MCP connector. Salesforce arrives only on Enterprise at $35 per user, and the FAQ says SSO is available for workspaces of 50 or more users.
A solo consultant who logs deals in HubSpot gets there for $14 with Granola. A sales team of five on Salesforce is better served by Fathom Business or a tool built for it; our Claap review covers one.
What about privacy, AI training and consent?
Both claim SOC 2 Type II. Granola says it reached full SOC 2 Type 2 in July 2025; Fathom’s homepage lists “SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, HIPAA Compliant, SSO / SCIM”. These are vendor claims and we have not audited either.
Training works the same way on paper. Granola trains on anonymized data to improve its product and lets you opt out in Settings; Enterprise accounts have training off by default. Fathom’s privacy policy says it may use de-identified meeting content to train its in-house models and that you can opt out in account settings. The policy does not say whether the default is on or off, and our Fathom review states it as on by default. We could not confirm that wording, so check the setting yourself. Both say third parties such as OpenAI and Anthropic may not train on your content.
Retention differs. Granola stores notes and transcripts indefinitely unless you delete them, and says account deletion removes your data within 30 days. Fathom keeps personal information “for as long as necessary” and says it will use commercially reasonable efforts to delete recordings within 30 days of account deletion.
On consent, a bot is a notice and no bot is not. A proposed class action against Granola was filed July 30, 2026 in the Northern District of California, alleging it recorded calls without every participant’s consent; the claims are allegations, and we found no ruling. We did not search for litigation against Fathom. Whichever you pick, tell participants you are recording. Granola’s help center documents an optional chat notice and a video watermark in Settings.
How do Granola and Fathom compare with Fireflies and Otter?
Most people weighing this pair also look at one of the two bot-first rivals. Fathom sits between them and Granola.
| Fireflies.ai | Otter.ai | |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | 400 minutes of storage and 20 one-time AI credits; 3 transcriptions unless Auto Join is on | 300 transcription minutes a month, 30 minutes per conversation, 3 lifetime file imports |
| Entry paid | Pro: $18 monthly, $10 per month billed annually | Pro: $16.99 monthly, $8.33 per month billed annually |
| Capture | Bot by default; bot-free desktop app on Mac and Windows | Bot joins Zoom, Teams and Meet |
Fathom’s free plan beats both on volume: unlimited recordings and transcripts, against 400 stored minutes at Fireflies and 300 minutes a month at Otter. Fireflies is the stronger pick when you want automation and field updates, and Otter when you want a browser app. The full pairings are in Granola vs Fireflies and Granola vs Otter.ai. Otter’s page also shows Pro promo prices valid only with an India-issued card; ignore those unless that is you.
So which should you pick?
Start with Fathom’s free plan if you only want recordings, transcripts and search and do not mind a bot. It costs nothing and keeps everything.
Start with Granola’s free plan if you take your own calls, work on Windows or want no recorder in the room. Upgrade to Business at $14 when you need history past 30 days or the HubSpot and Notion links.
Take Fathom if a team of two or more needs shared libraries and CRM sync. If neither fits, read our best AI meeting note takers guide, plus Circleback and Claap.
Not sold on either?
A third route if you want bot or bot-free capture in one tool; see our review for pricing and limits.
Bot-free notes built for sales teams with CRM auto-fill, at a higher entry price per our review.
The bot-first option with the widest CRM and automation reach; our Granola vs Fireflies page has the numbers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better, Granola or Fathom?
Granola is better for one person who wants notes without a bot in the call and likes writing their own shorthand. Fathom is better if you want a strong free plan or a team workflow with CRM sync. Granola Business is $14 per user per month; Fathom Premium is $20 monthly or $16 annually.
Is Fathom or Granola cheaper?
Fathom is cheaper at $0, since its free plan has unlimited recordings and transcripts. For a paid single seat, Granola Business ($14) undercuts Fathom Premium ($20 monthly, $16 annual). For two people, Fathom Team costs $38 a month, or $30 billed annually, against $28 for two Granola Business seats.
Is Fathom notetaker really free?
Yes. Fathom's pricing page says Free forever and lists unlimited recordings, transcription, instant AI summaries, clips and search. AI action items and Ask Fathom are marked limited use, and the page does not give the limits.
Is Granola free?
Yes. Basic is $0 with AI meeting notes, AI chat, templates, shared folders and voice typing. Meeting history is limited to 30 days, and Slack is the only integration.
Does Fathom use a bot like Fireflies and Otter?
By default, yes: it joins calendar-synced calls. Its pricing page also lists bot-free recording on the Free plan, marked as a beta feature for Mac. Granola never uses a bot.
Fathom vs Granola for privacy: which is safer?
Neither is clearly safer. Granola trains on anonymized data unless you opt out in Settings and says it does not store meeting audio. Fathom's policy says it may train in-house models on de-identified meeting content, with an opt-out in account settings, and does not state the default. Both say third-party AI vendors may not train on your data. Check the setting on either account before recording clients.
Do Granola and Fathom have consent problems?
Both can record people who do not realize it. Granola does not announce itself, and a proposed class action filed July 30, 2026 alleges it recorded without every participant's consent. Allegations are unproven. A Fathom bot is visible, but the bot-free mode is not. Tell participants either way.
Fathom vs Fireflies vs Granola: how do they differ?
Fireflies and Fathom both default to a visible bot; Granola does not use one. Fathom's free plan is the most generous of the three. Fireflies Pro is $10 per seat billed annually. See our Granola vs Fireflies page for the full comparison.
Otter vs Fathom vs Granola: which should I pick?
Otter's free plan allows 300 transcription minutes a month and caps each conversation at 30 minutes, which is tighter than Fathom's unlimited recordings. Otter Pro is $16.99 monthly or $8.33 billed annually. Granola is the bot-free one. See our Granola vs Otter.ai page.
Does Fathom work with Salesforce and HubSpot?
Yes. Both appear in Fathom's integrations list. Its pricing page puts CRM field sync under the Business plan ($34 monthly, $25 annual, 2 users minimum). Granola connects HubSpot on its $14 Business plan and Salesforce only on Enterprise at $35.
Does Fathom work on Android or Windows?
Its homepage links an iOS app and lists Zoom, Google Meet and Teams, and mentions no Android or desktop app. Granola has apps for macOS, Windows, iOS and Android.
How we compared
We compared both products using vendor pages read on November 8, 2026: Granola's pricing and security pages, and Fathom's pricing page, homepage and privacy policy. Fathom's pricing page renders the Enterprise price with strikethrough formatting, so we do not quote an Enterprise figure. Fireflies and Otter figures in the three-way section come from our Granola vs Fireflies and Granola vs Otter.ai pages, checked the same day; we could re-read Otter's pricing page but not Fireflies' exact prices, so confirm those at checkout. We researched what people search for around this pair (Google Autocomplete, related searches and Keyword Planner). We could not read Reddit with our tools and found no thread to cite, so this page has no Reddit section. We did not run a head-to-head accuracy test and neither vendor publishes one, so we make no accuracy claims. Third-party review sites were used only for context.